If someone is involved in an accident, Michigan law requires that the person who caused the accident perform certain things, including staying at the scene of the accident, especially if someone was injured. Leaving the scene of an accident may result in heavy fines, license suspension, and even jail time.
Requirement After An Accident
Under Michigan law, a driver who has been involved in a car accident is required to:
- Provide the other driver with your personal information.
- Present your driver’s license.
- If someone is injured, you are required to help get them medical aid.
A driver could still be found guilty of leaving the scene of an accident because leaving is against the law regardless of whether there is an injury. If you do leave the scene of a crime, it is important to file a police report as soon as possible to ensure that you receive a manageable amount of penalties.
Leaving the scene of an accident, even if it was a single-car accident, may result in the driver being charged with a crime. Under Michigan law, if the accident results in a serious injury or death of someone, the penalty for leaving will be a felony.
Serious Bodily Injury
Under Michigan law, a serious bodily injury may include the following:
- Loss of limb
- Loss of a foot, hand, finger, or thumb
- Loss of an eye or ear
- Loss or substantial impairment of a bodily function
- Serious visible disfigurement
- A coma that lasts for more than three days
- Measurable brain or mental impairment
- A skull fracture or other serious bone fractures
- Subdural hemorrhage
- Loss of an organ
Penalty For Leaving The Scene Of An Accident
There are several penalties that may be implemented against someone who leaves the scene of an accident, including being found guilty of a felony or misdemeanor, being required to pay fines, being placed in jail, getting points against your license, and potentially having your license suspended.
No Serious Bodily Injury
Under Michigan law, the penalty for leaving the scene of an accident that does not result in a serious bodily injury will generally result in a misdemeanor. For this misdemeanor, the court may implement a $1,000 fine against the defendant and place them in jail for up to one year, potentially including a driver’s license suspension. If the accident only results in vehicle damage, it will result in a fine of up to $100 and up to 90 days in jail.
Under Michigan law, the penalty for leaving the scene of an accident that does result in a serious bodily injury will usually result in a felony which may result in a fine up to $5,000, five years in prison, and a driver’s license suspension. Those penalties will be increased if the individual who fled the accident was at-fault for the accident. If the person fleeing is at fault, the fine could be $10,000, and the jail sentence could be 15 years.
Driver’s License Suspension
Generally, an individual will get six points against their driver’s license for fleeing the scene of an accident. Additionally, under Michigan law, if the accident in which the driver fled resulted in someone being injured, their driver’s license can be suspended for up to 90 days. If the accident results in serious bodily injury or impairment, then the driver’s license will be suspended for one year.
Who Can Leave The Scene Of An Accident?
There are a couple of exceptions to the “no one can leave the scene of an accident.” For example, if a passenger is in one of the vehicles, they may leave the scene of the accident because the law only applies to the driver who knows or has reason to believe they have been in an accident. However, both drivers are required to stay on the scene, even if they are not at fault for the accident.
Another reason that an individual can leave the scene of an accident is if they feel unsafe. Under Michigan law, if a driver has a reasonable and honest belief that remaining on the scene will result in harm, they can leave as long as they report the accident as soon as possible.
Hiring An Attorney For Leaving The Scene Of An Accident
If you or someone you know has been in a car accident and left the crime scene, it is important to report the accident immediately and hire an attorney. Hiring an experienced attorney could help you avoid high fines and jail time because they can review the facts of the situation and provide plausible reasons as to why you left the accident scene. To get a highly experienced attorney on your side, contact us today at George Law by calling us at 248-247-7459 or by filling out an online form.