Larceny is stealing property from another person. There are several kinds of larceny in Michigan and depending on the severity of the charge, comes with various penalties. These penalties can carry severe punishments consisting of time spent in jail, fines, or both. This article will discuss the different kinds of larceny, the penalties for each, and what to do when facing a larceny charge.
Skilled Michigan Larceny Attorneys
When facing a Michigan larceny charge, it is essential to take those charges seriously. Depending on the severity of the offense, you may face severe penalties that could follow you for the rest of your life.
Regardless of the crime, the consequences to your personal life, family, and career could be irreparable. As such, you should not leave any aspect of your defense up to chance. Hiring a skilled criminal defense attorney ensures that your rights and interests are protected along the way. George Law criminal defense attorneys are ready to represent you today in your Michigan larceny charge. To learn more or schedule your free initial case consultation, call 248-278-7652 or visit our website today.
Generally, larceny is the theft of another person’s property. To establish a larceny charge, the prosecution must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you unlawfully took another person’s property with the intent to deprive the owner of that property permanently. As an alternative to any of the punishments below, judges may choose to impose a fine of up to three times the value of the stolen property, whichever of the two punishments is greater.
Michigan Larceny Classifications
Punishments for larceny in Michigan are determined by the type of property stolen and the value of that property. Michigan law also imposes additional penalties for larceny for those convicted of larceny in the past.
Misdemeanor larceny is broken into two categories by the value of the property stolen.
Less Than $200
If you are convicted of taking property valued at less than $200, you face up to 93 days in jail and/or a $500 fine. The penalties are increased to the next misdemeanor level if you have a previous larceny conviction, which comes with penalties of up to a year in jail and/or a $2,000 fine.
$200 To Less Than $1,000
This level of misdemeanor involves penalties of up to a year in jail and/or a $2,000 fine. If you are convicted of this charge and have previous theft convictions, you may face up to a five-year felony sentence.
Like misdemeanor larceny, felony larceny is broken down based on the value of property stolen. There are also heightened penalties if you have previous theft convictions and are convicted of the present charge.
$1,000 Up To $20,000
For thefts involving at least $1,000 but less than $20,000, you may face up to five years in prison and/or a fine of $10,000. Additionally, if you steal a firearm or certain vehicle parts, you will face the same punishments as above. If you have a record of two or more theft convictions involving $200 or more, you may face up to a 10-year felony prison term.
$20,000 Or More
For the theft of property of $20,000 and more, you face ten years in prison and/or a 15,000 fine.
Retail fraud involves the theft of goods or merchandise. Retail fraud differs from larceny because merchandise or retail items are not considered personal property under larceny law. Retail fraud law involves. If you have committed retail fraud, you can be charged criminally and sued in civil court for damages. Alternatively, judges may impose a fine up to three times the value of the service instead of a fine and/or jail time, similar to larceny.
Third-Degree Retail Fraud
Third-degree retail fraud is a misdemeanor offense carrying a penalty of up to 93 days in jail and/or up to a $500 fine when the value of the merchandise is less than $200. A third-degree offense becomes a second-degree offense if the person has a previous retail fraud or larceny conviction.
Second-Degree Retail Fraud
You commit second-degree retail fraud when you take merchandise at least $200 in value but less than $1,000. The penalties for second-degree retail fraud are a misdemeanor of up to one year in jail and a $2,000 fine.
First-Degree Retail Fraud
If you have committed first-degree retail fraud, you face up to a five-year prison sentence and/or a $10,000 fine. To be charged with first-degree retail fraud, you must have stolen merchandise valued at $1,000 or more.
You may also be sued in civil court if the store owner chooses to bring suit against you. If successful, a store owner can recover:
- The full price of the stolen merchandise, if not returned or is returned in a condition that is not suitable for resale, and
- Monetary damages of 10 times the retail price up to a maximum of $200.
Hiring A Michigan Criminal Defense Attorney
Defending a criminal charge in Michigan can be a daunting task. When you face these charges, you do not have to face them alone. A skilled criminal defense attorney can help you put on the best defense and protect your rights and interests. George Law criminal defense attorneys understand the stakes and are ready to represent you. To learn more or schedule your free initial case consultation, call 248-278-7652 or visit our website today.