Speeding may not seem like a serious thing. Usually, speeding will result in a ticket which is a traffic infraction, not a criminal offense, but sometimes speeding can lead to serious criminal penalties. Even when you are simply paying the speeding ticket, you are pleading guilty under Michigan law, which can have consequences you may not be aware of. A skilled and knowledgeable attorney can make a difference in the consequences you may face because of speeding. Contact one of our experienced attorneys today by calling us at (248) 247-7459 or reaching out online.
Michigan Speeding Law
Under Michigan law, an individual driving on a public road is required to drive at a prudent speed. This means people are not supposed to drive too fast or too slowly because it can create dangerous situations resulting in car accidents and injuries. Going even one mile over the speed limit is a crime under Michigan law and can result in points against your license.
Under Michigan law, if a driver is caught speeding on a public roadway where the maximum speed limit is 55 miles per hour or more, then they may face the following penalties:
- Driving 1 to 5 miles per hour over the speed limit: A minimum fine of $10.
- Driving 6 to 10 miles per hour over the speed limit: One point against your license and a minimum fine of $20.
- Driving 11 to 15 miles per hour over the speed limit: Two points against your license and a minimum fine of $30.
- Driving 16 to 25 miles per hour over the speed limit: Three points against your license and a minimum fine of $40.
- Driving 26 miles per hour or more over the speed limit: Four points against your license and a minimum fine of $50.
If caught speeding in a work zone, you can get up to five points against your license, drastically impacting your life. Once you reach 12 points against your license, you must retake your driver’s examination. You may also have your license suspended.
Additionally, having points against your license can increase your car insurance premiums for two years following the points being placed against your license. Therefore, while speeding is not generally considered a criminal offense, it can harm your life. In certain cases, speeding may rise to a criminal offense.
Misdemeanor Speeding Violations
While speeding won’t automatically result in a misdemeanor, you may face a misdemeanor offense if you are cited with reckless driving. Under Michigan law, it is a criminal offense to operate a vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for another person’s personal or property safety. This means that if you are found to be driving recklessly in a way that endangers someone’s life or property, you can face a misdemeanor offense. In addition, if you are found to be going at excessive rates, you could face a misdemeanor charge because you disregarded the safety of everyone else on the road. For example, if you are going 50 miles over the speed limit on the highway, you could get arrested and charged with a misdemeanor.
In Michigan, you risk being charged with reckless driving if you go 25 miles per hour or more over the speed limit. If you are charged with a misdemeanor for speeding, you could face the following penalties:
- Up to 93 days in jail
- Fine of up to $500
- License suspension
Like with other misdemeanor penalties, you could also face probation which limits your movement and hinders your ability to get jobs, rent apartments, and get into college.
Felony Speeding Violations
In Michigan, a speeding violation usually will not result in a felony charge unless the circumstances cause highly dangerous activity or injure someone.
Injuries And Death
If you are speeding and cause injury or death, you can be charged with vehicular assault or vehicular manslaughter, which are felony charges. Under Michigan law, if you are charged with vehicular manslaughter, you can face up to 15 years in prison and a fine of up to $7,500.
Evading A Police Officer
If you run from a police officer while speeding, you can be charged with fleeing, and eluding a police officer can result in felony penalties. There are four degrees of fleeing and eluding, including:
- First-degree felony: If a death happens while someone is fleeing, they will be charged with a first-degree felony and face up to 15 years in prison, a fine of up to $5,000, and a revocation of their driver’s license.
- Second-degree felony: If someone is seriously injured while someone is fleeing the police, they will be charged with a second-degree felony and will face up to ten years in prison, a fine of up to $5,000, and a revocation of their driver’s license.
- Third-degree felony: If a collision occurs while someone is fleeing the police in an area where the speed limit is under 35 miles per hour, they could face a third-degree felony. A third-degree felony may result in up to five years in prison, a fine of up to $5,000, and a driver’s license revocation.
- Fourth-degree felony: If you are convicted of fleeing from a police officer, you can be charged with a fourth-degree felony and face up to two years in prison, a fine of up to $500, and a license suspension.
Felony charges can follow you for a long time, so it is important to have an experienced criminal defense attorney if your speeding is considered a criminal offense.
Contact A Knowledgeable Criminal Defense Attorney
To speak with one of our experienced attorneys, contact George Law by calling us at (248) 247-7459 or through our online form. We are here to fight for your best interests.