You may have heard that you can be charged with OWI if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 or higher. In reality, the picture is more complicated.
You can be charged with drunk driving if your blood alcohol is below .08. You may also be subject to enhanced penalties if your BAC is .17 or higher. Here is an overview of BAC levels and Michigan drunk driving charges:
- For drivers under the age of 21, the BAC limit is .02 or higher. That can be as little as one drink depending on your child's weight.
- For commercial drivers, the BAC limit is .04 or higher.
- For everyone else, the BAC limit is .08 or higher.
- If your BAC is .17 or higher, you can be charged under Michigan's "super drunk driving law."
Penalties for super drunk driving in Michigan: For a first offense, you face up to 180 days in jail, $700 fine, mandatory alcohol treatment and one-year driver's license suspension. You may be eligible for a restricted license after serving 45 days of the license suspension, but only if an ignition interlock device is installed your vehicle. You also face a $1,000 driver responsibility fee and higher auto insurance rates.
You can also be charged with drunk driving if your blood alcohol content is below the limit and the police officer who stops you believes you are visibly impaired.
At the Law Offices of Derrick E. George, P.C., we offer a free initial consultation to discuss high and low BAC drunk driving charges. From our office in Birmingham, we handle drunk driving cases in the Detroit metro area and throughout Michigan.
Talk to a DUI/OWI Defense Lawyer Today
Call 248-470-4300, or fill out our contact form to schedule a consultation with attorney Derrick E. George about low and high BAC drunk driving offenses. From our office in Birmingham, we represent clients in the Detroit metro area and throughout Michigan.