All Michigan drunk driving convictions carry serious consequences. For a first OWI offense, you face up to 93 days in jail, up to $500 in fines, alcohol and drug evaluation, 30 days of driver's license suspension followed by 150 days of restricted driving. You may be required to use an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. You also face a $125 driver's license reinstatement fee, a $1,000 driver responsibility fee, up to 360 hours of community service, higher auto insurance rates and possible loss of employment. The consequences for super drunk driving (driving with a blood alcohol content level of .17 percent) or a second offense are significantly higher. A third DUI/OWI offense is a felony.
Learn more about Michigan DUI/OWI consequences.
Given the consequences you face, no one should face OWI charges without an experienced defense attorney. We offer a free initial consultation to discuss your alcohol-related offense and your legal options.
In some cases, an experienced defense lawyer can reduce OWI charges to a non-alcohol-related offense such as:
- Allowing an intoxicated person to drive
- Allowing an unlicensed driver to drive
- Reckless driving
- Careless driving
Call Now for a Free Drunk Driving Consultation
For more information about Michigan's drunk driving laws, call 248-470-4300, or fill out our contact form. From our office in Birmingham, we represent clients in the Detroit metro area and throughout Michigan.